Page 1 of 1

IIS performace isssue

Posted: Thu Mar 19, 2009 9:33 am
by gbaxley
I am having an issue where when I add the line of code in the application_top file it slows down the loading of the page dramatically -

One thing that might be causing the problem is how we have our menu setup. We have several sub categories that open in a tree menu that load on every page. I'm guessing it has to rewrite the urls on each page everytime it loads. Is there any way around this?

the website is:

http://www.hancockseed.com

I have it turned off right now

Re: IIS performace isssue

Posted: Thu Mar 19, 2009 10:08 am
by inveo
I split the topic, because this is another issue.

You are running IIS on Windows. There are couple of performance problems with PHP on this platform so make sure you are using latest PHP and Zend Optimizer version and you placed "readonly-htaccess" file to the directory with main .htaccess file.

Re: IIS performace isssue

Posted: Thu Mar 19, 2009 10:31 am
by gbaxley
It is working fine and PHP and Zend optimizer are current. Is it true that the product rewrites all urls on each page? If so how many urls would it take to slow it down? I beleive there are about 100 menu items on the left in a tree menu. Is this the culprit? WOuld you like me to enable it so you can see the performance decrease? The page loads fast wants it gets there

Re: IIS performace isssue

Posted: Thu Mar 19, 2009 10:38 am
by inveo
gbaxley wrote:It is working fine and PHP and Zend optimizer are current. Is it true that the product rewrites all urls on each page?


Yes. All URLs are transformed "on the fly".

gbaxley wrote:If so how many urls would it take to slow it down? I beleive there are about 100 menu items on the left in a tree menu. Is this the culprit?


No, there is no limit. 100 menu items is not much.

gbaxley wrote:WOuld you like me to enable it so you can see the performance decrease? The page loads fast wants it gets there


Post me your FTP login details, but I can not guarantee I will be able to solve it. We know there is performance issue on some IIS web servers and it looks like memory mapping is crippled directly inside PHP for win32 - some web severs are affected and some not.

Re: IIS performace isssue

Posted: Thu Mar 19, 2009 11:43 am
by gbaxley
post me your ftp details? what am i stupid? Anyone would be able to get access to our site.

Show me a site that has hundreds of urls that is transformed on the fly. I would like to compare performance.

Re: IIS performace isssue

Posted: Thu Mar 19, 2009 11:55 am
by inveo
gbaxley wrote:post me your ftp details? what am i stupid? Anyone would be able to get access to our site.


PM or email me of course.

gbaxley wrote:Show me a site that has hundreds of urls that is transformed on the fly. I would like to compare performance.


Please see Live stores at http://www.magic-seo-url.com/zencart/en ... shops.html but there is no direct connection in performance and how many URLs need to be transformed, this issue depends on problem inside PHP core.

gbaxley wrote:It is working fine and PHP and Zend optimizer are current.


I reviewed your web site in more detail and you are not using latest PHP (5.2.6 is used). Are you sure you are using at least latest Zend Optimizer?

Re: IIS performace isssue

Posted: Thu Mar 19, 2009 9:37 pm
by gbaxley
I did some more testing tonight, we have too many visitors during the day to try to tweak. I enabled the default zencart category menu, rather than the css tree menu we are currently using and performance wasnt an issue.

With the standard menu in place only a small portion of urls need to be transformed - thus allowing for excellent load times.

With the css menu enabled which contains all urls on all pages, the site load time is much longer. I do have MSU enabled for 5 categories deep and I have about 150 menu items.

other than php can you give me any other tips? Zend optimizer 3.3 is at its most current version.

We are considering just showing sub menu links only for active menus, we would prefer not to do this if there are other solutions.

Re: IIS performace isssue

Posted: Fri Mar 20, 2009 10:02 am
by inveo
I can provide you with following tips:

  • Make sure cache is working properly (look into cache/fancy-data directory if there are created any files)
  • update PHP to most current version (5.2.6 used, 5.2.9 is the latest)
  • update Zend Optimizer (3.3 used, 3.3.3 is the latest)
  • Decrease page source code size (by using CSS layout, removing unused tags etc.). The smaller is source code, the faster is MSU.

You can also test MSU by using following installation line:

Code: Select all

if($_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR'] == 'YOUR_IP_HERE') {
  include(DIR_WS_INCLUDES . 'magic_seo_url.php');
}

Re: IIS performace isssue

Posted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 4:32 am
by gbaxley
I still an unhappy with the performance of the page loads - Is there a setup that involves storing the urls in the database rather than rewriting them on the fly?

Re: IIS performace isssue

Posted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 5:55 am
by inveo
No, there is no such setup ("rewriting the URLs on the fly" mean that all data for creating such URLs are loaded from cache - it is the most fastest way how this can be done and it is much more faster than loading anything from database).

Cart  
(empty)

Cart Check out  »

Prices are tax inclusive.

The VAT rate for your country (US) * is 0,0 % because it is not a member of the European Union (EU).

* Please create an account if your country does not match.

Community feed
  • [phpBB3] Sharing users between phpBB / PrestaShop
    Hi i have 2 question 1- prestashop module support phpBB 3.3 ? 2- why we can not login in prestashop and phpbb with same user?
    by zohall
  • [phpBB3] AJAX Userinfo Extension
    Hi! I'm having trouble with this extension: https://www.phpbb.com/customise/db/exte ... _userinfo/ I tried asking support from the author but for no avail, since now. My request for support...
    by Lord Phobos
  • [phpBB3] Upgrade to phpBB 3.2.3
    Hello.. after Upgrade to phpBB 3.2.3 I am getting this message.. How can I solve this issue..? Thank you
    by ingbrzy
  • [phpBB3] URL path changed
    Hello.. I have changed my site path after moving to new hosting and now can not activate SEO module.. new path http://www.miuios.cz/domains/miuios.cz/ could you help me? thank you
    by ingbrzy2
  • [phpBB3] Chinese language support
    Hi, i bought magic seo for phpbb because it says that it supports a wide range of alphabets and UTF-8, however i found that it doesn't. I'm preparing a website in Chinese and all forums having a...
    by iwsmike
Join our support forum » Pre-Sales Questions »
Featured Testimonials

Magic SEO URLs for ZenCart were an excellent investment for our medium-sized business, and the support team revised the software to get our non-standard Zen Cart working. It does everything we need it to, and overall I have been thrilled with Magic SEO URLs. I mean every word of that. Thanks again.

Dimitri, the owner of Headphones - Headsonic Australia

The support provided by the Inveostore.com team was top-notch! I had some questions regarding installation and they provided fast and friendly help. I’ll be recommending Magic SEO URLs to anyone who needs a quality URL re-write application from a great company.

Andrew, the owner of Right Channel Radios

More Testimonials »